The Win Win collaborative is formed of Alex ‘XXXChange’ Epton, Chris Devlin and producer Ghostdad, who have smashed together as many instruments, soundbytes and beats as possible to create a full-throttle dance record. Throughout, it’s varied by guest vocals from some of the most exciting singers of the moment, including Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor (whose airy voice on ‘Interleave’ is paired with sonorous buzzing layers of synths), Andrew WK (on the slick, Talking Heads-tinted ‘Pop A Gumball’) and Gang Gang Dance’s quirky soprano Lizzie Bougatsos (the relatively minimal ‘Releaserpm’ was the first single released from the record). Speedy one minute and lethargic the next, sad then jubilant, seizure-inducing and completely soothing, ‘Win Win’ is a constantly evolving, successful first offering that’ll definitely hold your attention.

By DK Goldstein

Originally published in issue 26 (vol 3) of Loud And Quiet. March 2011

More from
« Previous Album