Sonic youth dust off an ancient live recording caught on tape to deliver new album.


The fate of Sonic Youth still hangs in the balance, but in the meantime drummer Steve Shelley has dusted off an old live tape from 1985, mastered and mixed it from its original 4-track cassette source in order to release it as a double LP, CD and download on November 12th.

‘Smart Bar – Chicago 1985’ is, as the title suggests, a live album from the band’s ‘Bad Moon Rising’ tour of the mid 80s that features much of ‘Bad Moon Rising’ and early performances of ‘Secret Girl’ and ‘Expressway to Yr Skull’, which was later released on ‘EVOL’ in . The recording also features a never before released live rendition of ‘Kat ‘N’ Hat’.

Check out the full tracklisting below…

1- Hallowe’en
2- Death Valley ’69
3- Intro/Brave Men Run(In My Family)
4- I Love Her All The Time
5- Ghost Bitch
6- I’m Insane
7- Kat ‘N’ Hat
8- Brother James
9- Kill Yr Idols
10- Secret Girl
11- Flower
12- The Burning Spear
13- Expressway To Yr Skull
14- Making The Nature Scene