Derwin Panda unveils a new song, album and label – all inspired by two ear-opening trips to Japan.


To some ears, Gold Panda has been away a little while.

It’s true – it’s been three years since the release of ‘Half Of Where You Live’ in 2013. But he has been on the road – everywhere from Asia to Africa in fact.

He’s also found time to sign a new deal with City Slang, who’ll put out his new album, ‘Good Luck And Do Your Best’, on 27 May.

Recorded in his native Chelmsford, Essex, but conceived during two trips to Japan in spring and autumn, it all came together over the last 18 months. He was traveling around the country with photographer Laura Lewis (see her shot above).

“Halfway through the first trip we bought rail tickets and rode across the country and went to Hiroshima,” Gold Panda (or Derwin) explains. “One afternoon we had taken a taxi, and as we got out the Japanese taxi driver’s parting words to us as we left were, ‘good luck and do your best.'”

Once he’s got his new album down, Derwin went to long-term friend and collaborator Luke Abbott who mixed it in his studio.

Here’s the new track with a new video, ‘Time Eater’. It’s a good ‘un.

Here’s the tracklist and the artwork for the new album.

1. Metal Bird
2. In My Car
3. Chiba Nights
4. Pink And Green
5. Song For A Dead Friend
6. I Am Real Punk
7. Autumn Fall
8. Halyards
9. Time Eater
10. Unthank
11. Your Good Times Are Just Beginning


Derwin’s already on the bill for Field Day in London in June, but ahead of that he’ll play Tufnell Park Dome on 29 May.