Listening Post

Kevin Morby finishes off our Primavera Sound playlist mini series by making this mix

A guest mix of old and new from the Brooklyn songwriter, before he plays the Barcelona festival this week

Only a couple of days now until Primavera Sound kicks off in Barcelona, Spain.

In the run-up to it, we’ve asked some of the artists we like who’re playing it put together guest playlists. The brief was to take a look over the line-up and put together a mix picking songs from other acts also on the bill.

We’ve assembled quite a library of them. Check out the selections from:

Cigarettes After Sex
Alex Cameron (+ Roy Molloy)
The Black Angels
Julia Jacklin
Noga Erez

To round things off – leave the best ’til last etc. – is Kevin Morby. He’s playing at 18.00 on Thursday 1 June.

Listen to his picks below. You can also read about his choices.

Angel Olsen – Give It Up

Angel sent me a demo of this song a long time ago. I knew it was a hit from second 0:01.

Alex Cameron – Mongrel

Alex is a ghost who rattles chains in the long dark hallway of reality. A saxophone blows in the distance.

Arcade Fire – My Body Is A Cage

Have you heard this song? It’s amazing.

Solange – Don’t Touch My Hair

Sometimes when i’m listening to R&B this good I am transported back to being a kid skating around a roller rink while a disco ball turns overhead.

Mac Demarco – This Old Dog

Mac DeMarco’s new music is like a Corona with a lime in it. An instant vacation, and an instant hit with the masses.

Van Morrison – And It Stoned Me

Half a mile from the county fair and the rain came pouring down – we just stood there getting wet with our backs against the fence. Oh the water…oh…the water.

Weyes Blood – Generation Why

I’ve known Natalie now 11 years. Whats great about her is that her music is truly timeless and will live on for a long, long time.

The Magnetic Fields – The Luckiest Guy On The Lower East Side

One of the top ten best love songs of all time.

William Tyler – Highway Anxiety

Williams rules.

Kevin Morby’s new album ‘City Music’ is out on 16 June.