The Invisible

(Ninja Tune)


It’s little wonder it’s taken four years for The Invisible to make a new album. The follow-up to their Mercury Prize-nominated debut, 2012’s ‘Rispah’, was completed in the aftermath of the death of Dave Okumu’s mother. A few months later a freak accident saw the frontman electrocuted on stage in Africa and the campaign was understandably halted. Both events inflicted mental and physical scars, which have taken time to heal.

Fortunately, the fittingly titled ‘Patience’ has been made in more positive circumstances. Outside of the trio, frontman Okumu is a notable producer (working with Jessie Ware and, more recently, Rosie Lowe) while bassist Tom Herbert is part of Polar Bear and drummer Leo Taylor has recorded with Adele and Grace Jones. It is, though, a unique chemistry that bubbles when the three friends reunite.

There are guests this time, too, including Anna Calvi, Rosie Lowe and Connan Mockasin, who all contribute vocals, but it’s best when it’s just the three of them – like on the addictive Prince-esque groove of lead single ‘Save Me’, the spacey synth-injected opener ‘So Well’ and the wispy, creeping LCD Soundsystem-style ballad ‘Memories’. The whole thing all comes dressed in The Invisible’s indelible foggy funk lacquer. Odd moments feel a little unnecessarily extended, but having travelled back from a dark place, you can practically hear the smiles back on their faces.

Support Loud And Quiet from £3 per month and we'll post you our next 9 magazines

As all of us are constantly reminded, it’s getting harder for independent publishers to stay in business, which applies to Loud And Quiet more now than ever, 14 years after we first started printing a magazine that we’ve always given away for free.

Having thought about the best way to support our running costs (the printing and distribution fees, the podcast and production costs etc.) we’d like to ask our readers who really enjoy what we do to subscribe to our next 9 issues over the next 12 months. The cheapest we can afford to do this for works out at £3 per month for UK subscribers, charged yearly.

If that seems like a bit of a punt, you can pay-as-you-go for £4 per month and cancel any time you like. European and world plans are available too, at the lowest rate we can afford.

It’s not just a donation – you’ll receive a physical copy of our magazine through your door and some extra perks detailed on our subscribe page. Digital subscriptions are available worldwide for £15 per year. We hope you consider this a good deal and the best way to keep Loud And Quiet in your life without its content, independence or existence suffering.