Goat Girl
On All Fours

(Rough Trade)


As their self-titled debut showed, Goat Girl are one of the few British acts still capable of making guitars sound genuinely thrilling, with their dispatches from the frontline of being young, in a city and slightly sad.

In-keeping with their South London peers, they’ve embraced electronics on this record, and whilst – unlike, say, PVA or Jockstrap – those sounds aren’t front and centre, they’re leading down some interesting new avenues. Take the woozy ‘(Jazz) in the Supermarket’, with its nagging daydream synth line that suggests a recent interest in Broadcast. The relatively straightforward, dancefloor-focused ‘Sad Cowboy’, a brilliant disco-not-disco dirge, is tempered by a droll delivery that intelligently refuses to quite let it become a banger. ‘Anxiety Feels’ and ‘PTS Tea’ make lyrically explicit the powerful, fuggy melancholia that permeates the record, and opener ‘Pest’ continues the well-observed gender politics that were often the engine of their debut. The more experimental points, like the off-kilter Krautrock groove of ‘Once Again’, could be teased out more, but one suspects that this is the work of future Goat Girl releases. On All Fours feels like a transitional record, but in the best sense of that term. This band’s possibilities remain wide open.

Loud And Quiet needs your help

The COVID-19 crisis has cut off our advertising revenue stream, which is how we’ve always funded how we promoted new independent artists.

Now we must ask for your help.

If you enjoy our articles, photography and podcasts, please consider becoming a subscribing member. It works out to just £1 per week, to receive our next 6 issues, our 15-year anniversary zine, access to our digital editions, the L&Q brass pin, exclusive playlists, the L&Q bookmark and loads of other extras.